Sagada: Kimchi Restaurant

After spelunking the Sumaguing Cave I became so tired and famished so after we freshen up we decided to try Kimchi Restaurant which has good reviews online. Also this is the nearest restaurant to where I am staying about 2-3 minutes walk and after submitting myself to that beautiful but challenging cave, I told Demi that we are definitely going to eat somewhere near us else I am going to pass out from being way too drained. When we got to the restaurant I realized that I have forgotten my camera so I asked the owner if I could go back the day after to take pictures and it was okay with her. Demi’s phone is almost drained as well so she only took some pictures.

1

The little quaint place has a vibrant reggae theme which took me away from the nature tripping in a good way. It has a rustic interior, feel at home setting with a lot of tribal details in every side of the restaurant.

9 2 3 4 5 12 8 6 7

I love how warm and accommodating the server is and her little assistant. She handed us the menu, we asked several questions regarding the menu and she politely answered our queries. Kimchi serves Filipino and Korean dishes but since we both are not into Korean dishes we opted for Filipino dishes. I decided to go with the Chicken Curry with Potatoes and Carrots while Demi chose Sweet and Sour Pork. It was very unfortunate that I was not able to take a picture of their menu but if my memory remembers it correctly Filipino dishes starts at Php 150.00 and above while Korean dishes starts at about Php 300.00.

Food:

I was quite surprised that the serving is huge. Good enough for two persons or one hungry person. Demi and I decided to order different dishes so we can try at least two of their dishes. According to the server, their bestsellers are Chicken Adobo and Pork Adobo with Potatoes however I have been cooking a lot of Adobo for my then boyfriend so I am fed up with it (no pun intended). One needs to be patient while waiting for the food to be served since they cook the food only when ordered. It took about 10-15 minutes before our food were served and it was definitely worth the wait. They serve their viands on a small pot while their small white rice is on a plate. The serving of their rice is like a half cup instead of one cup. I did not however ordered an extra rice since it was already late at night and it would be hard to digest.

11

Chicken Curry with Potatoes and Carrots (Php 150.00)

10

Sweet and Sour Pork (Php 150.00)

Both Chicken Curry with Potatoes and Carrots and Sweet and Sour Pork are flavorful. I did not expect it to be appetizing but I was mistaken however I like the Sweet and Sour Pork better than the Chicken Curry which tastes just the same when I cook it.

This restaurant is a must try for tourists not only to experience their reggae ambiance but to definitely enjoy their food.

sign 7_zpsidxvc1xd

Leave a Reply

