My Second Dream

Few years ago I traveled to Davao City in the Philippines with my family to visit my grandmother. I can vividly remember that it was probably about six years ago. I was super excited as it was my first time to ride an airplane. The mere fact that I was walking towards the entrance of Ninoy Aquino International Airport (NAIA) made me extremely ecstatic.

 

 photo naia_zpsmlmnlroh.jpg

Ninoy Aquino International Airport *CTO*

 

From then on I realized that I want to travel more often especially to places I have never been to. I was only in college at that time and was eager to fulfill my first dream of becoming a nurse. Six years later, with a Master’s Degree in Nursing and five years of working experience as a nurse under my belt, came the time that I am going to pursue my second dream which is to travel.

 photo henry-david-thoreau-quotes-posters-5_zpswz2zpki5.jpg

Traveling is not cheap however, it is not as expensive as how other people thinks. Given that you do not expect to often stay in a 5 star hotel or resort and that you do not always go eat on the most expensive restaurants you could ever lay your eyes on. I have been to Davao City quite few times now. It was my escape whenever I get the feeling of burnout due to the nature of my work. I have been to Singapore twice, Hongkong and Macau. I usually travel with family but this time I am traveling alone. Okay, let me get this straight. It is not that I do not want to travel with my family nor am I a “loner”, Don’t get me wrong, traveling with family or friends is fun as it is and being with them once in a while is actually great but I do want to get comfortable in my own skin. I want to feel that freedom when you can just do anything you want without having to worry whether one or two of your friends or family member want to do an activity that you want to do.

 

I do honestly believe that getting out there by yourself has its own good perks and bad perks (how can a perk be bad?) however, I do not go on digging the bad perks. I want to do this for myself and to myself. Just think about “Eat Pray Love” by Elizabeth Gilbert. The ability to be able to explore the world, meeting new people as you go along your way, the thrill that you experience when you engage yourself in a different culture and the pleasure that you feel as you go on and cross off every single line in you bucket list.

 

Adam (who by the way is someone special to me) once asked me if I actually have a list like in a paper of my bucket list and I said “no”, it was all in my mind and now that I was able to comprehend such idea I soon saw myself writing my bucket list (which I will be posting sometime here). You will be able to get a better understanding of WHAT YOU REALLY WANT when you have a list to follow through. As I was trying to write the things I want to do I then began to get to unravel myself and know myself better. Those things YOU want to do and places YOU want to go to defines how you see yourself and once you have accomplished that you will be able penetrate your inner self. What good will knowing what you want when you are not doing what you can hard enough to pursue it?

 

Traveling to the places I want to visit and doing the things I want to do is not and will never be easy just think about the expenses it will cost me but if I do not try at least to do this, then I know for a fact that I am going to regret it. I am twenty-seven years old and I do not come from a wealthy family. In fact, I have only a little amount of money to start this journey. Sure, I will pick up some jobs right and left but only to haunt the bigger dream that I have.

 

Happy travelling and see you on the other side of the road.

 

 

Love,

 photo sign 3_zpsmfsnwi6q.png

Leave a Reply

